TRAINING: ESA student internship

The next round of internship opportunities at ESA is now published and opportunities will remain open until 30 November 2021. Internships last from three to six months and opportunities are available in engineering, science, IT, natural/social sciences, business and administration services.

ESA offers student internship opportunities from three to six months to students preferably in their last or second-to-last year of a Master's degree in technical and non-technical domains.

Browse this year’s opportunities directly on the ESA recruitment website. Create your candidate profile, upload your CV and add your motivation letter to submit your application.

Please note that EAC internships can be found under the establishment ESOC when filtering.

This year, internships are offered remotely, on-site or partially on-site depending on the pandemic situation and in line with the relevant establishment’s policy (e.g. possible Green Pass requirement) in place when the internship begins.

In 2022, due to less strict Covid-19 regulations, interns will have the option to carry out their internships either remotely (100% at a distance, no need to come to an ESA establishment to fulfil duties), on-site (depending on the internship topic, interns will be required to carry-out their activities at an ESA establishment) and/or partially on-site (a hybrid between working at a distance and working at an ESA establishment).

The details of how an internship will take place will be detailed in the job description or discussed during the exchanges you will have with your tutor and HR.

The starting date of the internship is flexible and can be decided by mutual agreement with your tutor. It should take into consideration that the internship is between three to six months long and you will need to be enrolled at your university for the entire duration of the internship.

For answers to all your questions, please check FAQs.

To be eligible to apply for the ESA student internships, you must meet the following criteria:

  • A Master’s student, preferably in your final or second-to-last year of your degree programme
  • A citizen of one of the following ESA Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Nationals from Latvia, Lithuania, and Slovenia, as Associate Members, or Canada as a Cooperating State, can apply as well as those from Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Slovakia as European Cooperating States.